Pediatric Group

Chair: Dr. Lorraine Hamiwka 

All members of the CST Pediatric Group Executive are elected directly by the membership. The principal role of the Executive is to set the strategic direction for the CST Pediatric Group. The Executive organizes an annual CST Pediatric Group dinner and educational meeting. They also administer awards for best abstracts submitted by paediatric transplant trainees to the CST annual meeting and they administer bursaries for allied health personnel wishing to attend the annual CST meeting. The Executive conducts the business of the group and is responsible for the fiscal health of the group. The Executive is accountable to the paediatric membership and seeks the input of membership on diverse issues such as public policy, major strategic initiatives, and nominations to committees as CST pediatric group representatives.

CST Pediatric Group Executive


Lorraine A. Hamiwka, MD, FRCPC               

Alberta Children’s Hospital, Calgary 



Aviva Goldberg, MD, FRCPC

Manitoba Children's Hospital, Winnipeg



Chia Wei Teoh, MB BCh BAO, MRCPI, LRC SI, MSc

The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto



Jenny Wichart, BScPharm, ACPR 

Alberta Children's Hospital, Calgary



Kathryn Armstrong, MBChB, MRCPCH,MD  

BC Children’s Hospital,Vancouver


Michel Lallier, MD 

Chu Sainte-Justine, Montreal


Allison Carroll, MD, FRCPC              

Stollery Children’s Hospital, Edmonton        

Renee Woo, BscPhm, ACPR, RPh

The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto


Ana Catalina Alvarez Elias, MD, MSc

The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto


Past Chairs                                                                    Past Secretary/Treasurer

                                                                                        Dr. Chia Wei Teoh        2018-2019

                                                                                        Dr. Jason Yap               2017-2018

Dr. Aviva Goldberg      2015-2017                               Dr. Lorraine Hamiwka    2015-2017

Dr. Susan Samuel        2013-2015                               Dr. Patricia Birk               2013-2015

Dr. Veronique Phan     2011-2013                                Dr. Aviva Goldberg         2011-2013

Dr. Anne Dipchand      2009-2011                               Dr. Samantha Anthony  2009-2011

Dr. Lorraine Bell           2007-2009                              Dr. Veronique Phan        2007-2009

Dr. Tom Blydt-Hansen  2005-2007                            Dr. Anne Dipchand        2005-2007

Dr. Lori West                2003-2005(founding chair)



  • Membership shall be comprised of health-care professionals who are members in good standing of the Canadian Society of Transplantation.
  • Physicians, allied health professionals, scientists and trainees from across Canada with an interest in pediatric transplantation.

Become a member of the Pediatric Group of the CST:

1. If you are an existing CST Member, login to your CST Profile and update your CST Group preferences by selecting Pediatric or send an email  to be added as a member of the Pediatric Group

2. If you are a non-CST Member, Join the CST and upon registration indicate that you wish to be a member of the Pediatric Group.

Pediatric Newsletters